It’s an Adventure.

158

It’s crazy how fast things are moving now. Like even this past week. Yesterday I could have sworn it was Monday. In fact I could have sworn yesterday was my first day in Kingston, it’s just all going so very fast, and it’s crazy to think I don’t have much longer here until I’m back with my parents. But before I get to that point there’s so much more I want to do, so much more I want to explore. There’s an itch within me that just craves adventure, an itch that craves going to new places. I’m such a curious soul, and I don’t know if that will ever stop; actually I don’t want it to. I can’t think of what it would be like to have that curiousness stop.

Sometimes I think that I haven’t really done a lot, but then I look in my journal and I kind of, even if just for a moment, realise I have. It might not be big things I have done a lot of, but the small things keep adding up. I can’t really expect myself to be doing a lot (I know I should be doing everything I can, but I shouldn’t expect to be able to do it all), I’m still in university, I have to prioritise assessments, learning, and personal time, so there are things that I’m going to miss, things I can’t do. But those moments when I do something that is just purely for me with no outside influence, is so pure. They are the moments when you start to realise what happiness can be, what it can manifest itself into, even if it is something as simple as going to the theatre on a whim to see a play. Trust me that was a good day. I should do more things on a whim, just take a chance and do it. I shouldn’t care about the ramifications that might happen as I’m doing whatever it is I am doing, but rather reflect on everything that happened afterwards. I need to spend more time being in the moment, being there, being present.

Sometimes you have to look for that moment and sometimes looking is hard, but when you find it can be the best thing that you’ve ever done. Its crazy how one little thing, no matter how drastic or simple it is, can change your entire mood, your entire outlook on the situation or in life in general. The way our brains work is completely fascinating, and each person has their own way of taking in something developing something reacting to something that’s what sets us all part the way we view things.

 

This is the first time I’ve had to write bits of an entry where I’m not in the place I’m living in. I was in a different country for only a few days but whilst I was there my mind started to think in a different way, but at the same time completely the same. This whole exchange period is making me learn more and more about myself every single day and I added to that when I was in Amsterdam as well as Bruges, but it’s just going so quickly.

Before you know it I’ll be back in Canada.

This week, this month, this year is already flying by.

All I know is this life; it’s an adventure.

Love,

Jess.

Leave a Reply

